Skip to main content

Confession #41

It’s two days till my pretest exams. And then there’s my sister’s Akht in the midst of it. And as it gets better, my nanu is coming from America to stay with us. Everything is out of my favor.
I suck at being a student, let alone be a good one. And those large syllabus won’t just complete in a day. Luck favors the prepared. I am no near my preparation for the tests. My sis is getting married! Also, I need a room. I need to be stable. I can’t sit and study just like that. I need some privileges, yeah special care. A room! And Nanu would be here soon ruining what’s left of it. Excuse me for being rude, but I just don’t like people staying at our place, I don’t feel at home then. And I get very much distracted. I know she’s family, but still. She’s not the kind of the company I enjoy. I don’t get along with old people. It’s written in my blood. I can’t help it.
So I’d be away for a while.

Confessions #42 

You won’t believe what happened yesterday. My would be brother-in-law came at our place to visit Api. Actually he didn’t enter our house, he just waited up in the basement. The excuse he gave to see Api was of giving her a book. Khaled Hosseini’s  The Kite Runner. How romantic.
I think he’s gonna make a great husband. Seriously. Now I have no worries, he’s a keeper. And the book he gave to api, I was craving to read it all this time. I am so lucky, I can read Khaled Hosseini’s another splendid book solid on paper. It’s a relief seeing the original book because I’ve been reading books on pdf’s format. Now a real book in hand! Thanks to bhaiya!
Oh forgot to tell you the interesting thing that happened yesterday at evening. When Rivu bhaiya came, they both hugged, kissed even. It was just a goodbye kiss as api says to me. Really? Get a room you guys! There were security cams out there in our basement. So at first I thought, omg all of it had been recorded, the hug and the kiss. My sis got paranoid. Because my chachu watches those security cam footage. It’d be really embarrassing for her to caught up in the camera. But luckily she didn’t. At night when we told this to ammu, she figured out that where they were standing was not the position the cam could behold. My sister was so relieved!
But eww. They aren’t married yet and already kissed each other. I know for me to say this doesn’t make sense but I still cannot cope up with the idea of kissing and stuff before marriage. Marrying a non-virgin was my idea, yes and still is. But kissing in front of  a security cam is not my thing. My sister didn’t know there was this cam in our basement though. But she did know it’s a place where people come and go. How can she just let him kiss? Anyone could sneak in and watch the whole situation there anytime. I really blame her on that!

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

opposite sides of a coin

Hi B,  I've been sort of busy with the training for the job and have another interview coming tomorrow. I am torn between staying with the current job and switching or keeping both as part times. I don't know, I guess I will have a decision made if the interview goes well. I have been traveling far for the current one and every time I get on the bus or the the train I feel depression kicking in full force. Suddenly I remember home, the comfort of being around my loved ones, the easy life I once had back in Bangladesh. Certainly, there are things that weren't easy but I guess it felt easy because I was more used to it. Transport was rickshaw and didn't even think twice before booking an uber because I always had some money with me. Now I have literally 200 dollars to go by and I have to think twice to even buy a cup of coffee or a piece of bread. I guess with time, I will be able to save up some money. I am glad at least I got to start working. It is still very overwhelm...

world war?

 Dear B,  I don't watch the news but there has been a lot of speculations on social media of a possible world war III. My sister just texted me that I should save up money as we don't know what that might do to the economy. It is ironic because I just ordered something online last night. Every time I go out, I spend. I don't even have a good paying job and I spend like I have full time. However, one thing I learned from my past is that there is no point in stressing about the future. What I have control over is now. I can either live in the moment or ruin it by ruminating and what good will it bring to my life? Living alone can get boring. However, I am trying to find things to do. Maybe I will visit a bookstore today. Lets see.  I have rearranged the furnitures yesterday. Cleaned as well. The place looks good.  Maybe I will go IKEA. I love it there. Even though I can't afford furnitures, I just enjoy looking at them. Oh what to tell you B. My in-laws are coming this...

"Because nothing makes me happier and nothing makes me sadder than you.”

“If I had a camera," I said, "I'd take a picture of you every day. That way I'd remember how you looked every single day of your life." "I look exactly the same." "No, you don't. You're changing all the time. Every day a tiny bit. If I could, I'd keep a record of it all." "If you're so smart, how did I change today?" "You got a fraction of a millimeter taller, for one thing. Your hair grew a fraction of a millimeter longer. And your breasts grew a fraction of a—" "They did not!" "Yes, they did." "Did NOT." "Did too." "What else, you big pig?" "You got a little happier and also a little sadder." "Meaning they cancel out each other, leaving me exactly the same." "Not at all. The fact that you got a little happier today doesn't change the fact that you also become a little sadder. Every day you become a little more of both, which me...