Skip to main content
I don't know, consider me immature but I literally share anything with my parents. And by anything I mean, if I find something strange in my body, let that be a lump in my buttocks, I would definitely tell them about it, and it's not just health concerns. I just came here after hours of gossip with my dad, about celebrities, how things are going on regarding my education, quizzes, things regarding future, career and stuff like that. I feel like it's a cool bond we share. They can be judgmental sometimes, it's not that they're different from any other parents. I feel like people my age, they live a separate life from their parents, they don't sit and talk and share what's going on with their lives and genuinely gossip about their social life, which I so often do. Like all my friends are, I don't think they do much talking with their mom and dad.

It's not like I don't have any secrets, I have secrets. I have boundaries, don't worry.

My parents, I can't say they did a good job raising me. They didn't push me hard, so I can do things that I don't believe myself I can. They didn't ask me to change, to improve or become career oriented. They spoiled me with love and affection. Not money tho. I feel like it's a good thing. But on a practical day to day life basis, their parenting doesn't work so well. Yeah, sure I am close with my parents, they made that possible by being loyal and kind to me. But in real life, nobody is going to be your parents. Nobody will sit and patiently listen to all your crap without charge, to your problems and scold you about it. They either gonna stop paying attention to you or make you feel like you don't exist. You have to build yourself up. No one is going to babysit you.

That is what my problem is. I am somewhat a product of my parents, who did what they thought was best for me and I was brought up kinda lazily. If I slept late in the morning, I was only scold a little. I don't know if I should be thankful about this, I wasn't disciplined. I had much freedom than other kids my age. I didn't fear my parents. And maybe that is the reason, I still spend time with them whether I have quiz and presentation in class tomorrow, whether I am busy. They are home, they're there for me. And I am both thankful and ungrateful about it. I am not so grownup as my age tells me to. I feel like I am still their baby and if someone hurt me in some way, I will go tell them right away.

And it's okay. I cherish this. I love being their baby. I love pretending to people that I am a young adult when actually I am a child inside. I love saying things I shouldn't have. I love being adorable. I love being stupid and ridiculous sometimes. I love being childish. It is so worth it. Because someday half of my life I have to spend with responsibilities in my shoulder, have to make decisions and all that grownup stuff. So I like being immature now, this is my time. I know it will do me no good, this world will not work for me if I stay humble, I have to be capable. But. I like being a child. I like when people don't believe I am doing my bachelors degree and mistake me for a school going girl. I quite like that.












Comments

Popular posts from this blog

opposite sides of a coin

Hi B,  I've been sort of busy with the training for the job and have another interview coming tomorrow. I am torn between staying with the current job and switching or keeping both as part times. I don't know, I guess I will have a decision made if the interview goes well. I have been traveling far for the current one and every time I get on the bus or the the train I feel depression kicking in full force. Suddenly I remember home, the comfort of being around my loved ones, the easy life I once had back in Bangladesh. Certainly, there are things that weren't easy but I guess it felt easy because I was more used to it. Transport was rickshaw and didn't even think twice before booking an uber because I always had some money with me. Now I have literally 200 dollars to go by and I have to think twice to even buy a cup of coffee or a piece of bread. I guess with time, I will be able to save up some money. I am glad at least I got to start working. It is still very overwhelm...

world war?

 Dear B,  I don't watch the news but there has been a lot of speculations on social media of a possible world war III. My sister just texted me that I should save up money as we don't know what that might do to the economy. It is ironic because I just ordered something online last night. Every time I go out, I spend. I don't even have a good paying job and I spend like I have full time. However, one thing I learned from my past is that there is no point in stressing about the future. What I have control over is now. I can either live in the moment or ruin it by ruminating and what good will it bring to my life? Living alone can get boring. However, I am trying to find things to do. Maybe I will visit a bookstore today. Lets see.  I have rearranged the furnitures yesterday. Cleaned as well. The place looks good.  Maybe I will go IKEA. I love it there. Even though I can't afford furnitures, I just enjoy looking at them. Oh what to tell you B. My in-laws are coming this...

"Because nothing makes me happier and nothing makes me sadder than you.”

“If I had a camera," I said, "I'd take a picture of you every day. That way I'd remember how you looked every single day of your life." "I look exactly the same." "No, you don't. You're changing all the time. Every day a tiny bit. If I could, I'd keep a record of it all." "If you're so smart, how did I change today?" "You got a fraction of a millimeter taller, for one thing. Your hair grew a fraction of a millimeter longer. And your breasts grew a fraction of a—" "They did not!" "Yes, they did." "Did NOT." "Did too." "What else, you big pig?" "You got a little happier and also a little sadder." "Meaning they cancel out each other, leaving me exactly the same." "Not at all. The fact that you got a little happier today doesn't change the fact that you also become a little sadder. Every day you become a little more of both, which me...