Skip to main content
Finally. The most awaited rainfall. Although it’s started as a storm. Roaring storm. I like a stormy night.
So I spent all day, you can say, since I woke up this afternoon, finishing Sophia Kinsella’s I’ve Got Your Number. T recommended it to me. No words can justify this novel. It was witty and I love some rom-com. You can guess why I skipped shower and lunch. I am all cleaned up now, shampooed my hair, have a wedding reception to attend. And apparently the electricity is gone. 

I normally hate wedding parties. But I go there just for the food. Yep. And of course to check out the bride and groom. To be honest, I’ve attended very few where the wedding couple is beautiful looking, no offense, either the bride is too pretty or the groom is too handsome or I don’t like to say this but-or both are unpleasant to look at…I wonder what the condition would be at my wedding. It’s too soon to talk about I guess. I am pretty much sure though, I would still be single at my 30s. Okay jinx. Don’t say that. I’ll find someone. Or someone will find me. Or rather I say, my parents will find him for me. Yes that’s more accurate.

I don’t know why I feel a tint of guilt whenever I talk about marriage or my future husband. I feel like I give out no substance when I say these things. I should be talking about my future goals, Academic goals. And here I am…thinking what it would be like at my wedding. Wow. 

It’s just that, I am a 20 year old with not so many connections. If I were a social butterfly, I would be perfect for the field I’ll be working in and that is business. But this is the contradictory part- I am the opposite of it. I am not good with phone calls, communication that requires fast/witty/useful response. I am more like a curl up in bed in my room with less human contact person. And that doesn’t help with strict career goals. I see myself, as an accountant maybe in future. Or just some dishwasher, washing crappy dish stains in the corner of some restaurant. Never have I imagined myself as an Entrepreneur or working in a high end company with huge figure salary. With dreams that low and cheap, how can I be career driven, think more substantially?

Yes maybe I lack substance. Yes I do kind of daydream about making babies, raising tiny humans with hot shot husband by my side, but you know what. That’s not all I think about. There’s a whole other part of me who is panicked about the future. I am tired of this dependency, first my parents and then would be my in-laws. No. I have to be self-dependent first. Marriage is a back-up plan. Or no plan at all. My priority starts from making my parents proud. And to make that happen, I have to be academically smart and later be successful in life. Then comes marrying some dude and start a family. So yeah. I should not feel guilty to talk about marriage. They all come together. In future.

Now I have to get ready. My mom already freaked out seeing me in pajamas with wet hair. We’ll be leaving in half an hour. So ciao.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

opposite sides of a coin

Hi B,  I've been sort of busy with the training for the job and have another interview coming tomorrow. I am torn between staying with the current job and switching or keeping both as part times. I don't know, I guess I will have a decision made if the interview goes well. I have been traveling far for the current one and every time I get on the bus or the the train I feel depression kicking in full force. Suddenly I remember home, the comfort of being around my loved ones, the easy life I once had back in Bangladesh. Certainly, there are things that weren't easy but I guess it felt easy because I was more used to it. Transport was rickshaw and didn't even think twice before booking an uber because I always had some money with me. Now I have literally 200 dollars to go by and I have to think twice to even buy a cup of coffee or a piece of bread. I guess with time, I will be able to save up some money. I am glad at least I got to start working. It is still very overwhelm...

world war?

 Dear B,  I don't watch the news but there has been a lot of speculations on social media of a possible world war III. My sister just texted me that I should save up money as we don't know what that might do to the economy. It is ironic because I just ordered something online last night. Every time I go out, I spend. I don't even have a good paying job and I spend like I have full time. However, one thing I learned from my past is that there is no point in stressing about the future. What I have control over is now. I can either live in the moment or ruin it by ruminating and what good will it bring to my life? Living alone can get boring. However, I am trying to find things to do. Maybe I will visit a bookstore today. Lets see.  I have rearranged the furnitures yesterday. Cleaned as well. The place looks good.  Maybe I will go IKEA. I love it there. Even though I can't afford furnitures, I just enjoy looking at them. Oh what to tell you B. My in-laws are coming this...

"Because nothing makes me happier and nothing makes me sadder than you.”

“If I had a camera," I said, "I'd take a picture of you every day. That way I'd remember how you looked every single day of your life." "I look exactly the same." "No, you don't. You're changing all the time. Every day a tiny bit. If I could, I'd keep a record of it all." "If you're so smart, how did I change today?" "You got a fraction of a millimeter taller, for one thing. Your hair grew a fraction of a millimeter longer. And your breasts grew a fraction of a—" "They did not!" "Yes, they did." "Did NOT." "Did too." "What else, you big pig?" "You got a little happier and also a little sadder." "Meaning they cancel out each other, leaving me exactly the same." "Not at all. The fact that you got a little happier today doesn't change the fact that you also become a little sadder. Every day you become a little more of both, which me...