Skip to main content
By failing to prepare, you are preparing to fail." - Benjamin Franklin

These days. 

I'm all about preparation. For the big SCARY day. And it almost, ALMOST makes me study. I mean, only if anyone knew what prep talk I give myself at the end of the day or when my car is stuck in traffic jam. I would be like- 

What dress should I wear at the admission test- hmm something comfortable. And something I wore in a happy occasion in the past. To favor the luck.

I don't think putting down my hair that day would be a good idea. I should do a ponytail. Not very tight tho that could give me a headache.

Revising- Uh I wonder when is the right time to revise. On the car to way up there? No. It could be unnerving. Oh hey. I could make flashcards.

Eating and Sleeping- I wonder about the night before. Would I be able to sleep? I don't think so. But if I settle down for some physical work for the day before, I could make myself fall asleep the night. But my body confuses me at times. Whatever happens, I will not let myself be awake the night before. I will get perfect 8-10 hours of sleep and before going there I would treat myself with a leisurely breakfast. 

What about footwear? I should wear something with straps because I have a tendency to slip out. I don't wanna make a scene.

Cell phone- Turn it off baby. Girl,(My subconscious speaking) You don't need any distraction from the instagram that day. Hot guys and puppies? You can drool over those pictures later, when you successfully complete the entrance exam.


Now the "could happen" part: The interview.
( My subconscious speaking to me again.)
Positive
You don't have to worry about it. Just smile and be proud of yourself if you have made it. Don't be afraid, they ain't gonna bite, they're just gonna ask you some questions and expect an answer. Don't give them the pleasure to traumatize you. Be ladylike and show respect. Show passion for whatever subject you get. And don't worry it helps that you're a female. They don't trick mother-like creatures. Just dress up in a traditional "sober" salwar kamiz and don't be tacky with the orna and you're good to go. 

Negative 

You didn't get into anywhere you applied? You didn't get all the promised gifts because you failed. You're heartbroken and sad and crying and regretting and going through hell and back. You can't face anyone in your family. You feel like every ounce of your  hopes and dreams just shattered into tiniest pieces as possible. And you don't know what to do now?  Here's an idea;

Quit being miserable.
Go back if you still have an option. Like right now. You. Yes you can change this... Never allow it to happen. Try harder. HARDER. 

However if you don't have an option. Don't go back. Look forward. You have have hit the bottom. The only way here now for you ,is to go up. So quit regretting and get up from the floor. Deal with your future. Deal with the reality. Deal with SAT. Deal with IELTS. Deal with private universities. Deal with your fate. Just deal with it. 










Comments

Popular posts from this blog

opposite sides of a coin

Hi B,  I've been sort of busy with the training for the job and have another interview coming tomorrow. I am torn between staying with the current job and switching or keeping both as part times. I don't know, I guess I will have a decision made if the interview goes well. I have been traveling far for the current one and every time I get on the bus or the the train I feel depression kicking in full force. Suddenly I remember home, the comfort of being around my loved ones, the easy life I once had back in Bangladesh. Certainly, there are things that weren't easy but I guess it felt easy because I was more used to it. Transport was rickshaw and didn't even think twice before booking an uber because I always had some money with me. Now I have literally 200 dollars to go by and I have to think twice to even buy a cup of coffee or a piece of bread. I guess with time, I will be able to save up some money. I am glad at least I got to start working. It is still very overwhelm...

world war?

 Dear B,  I don't watch the news but there has been a lot of speculations on social media of a possible world war III. My sister just texted me that I should save up money as we don't know what that might do to the economy. It is ironic because I just ordered something online last night. Every time I go out, I spend. I don't even have a good paying job and I spend like I have full time. However, one thing I learned from my past is that there is no point in stressing about the future. What I have control over is now. I can either live in the moment or ruin it by ruminating and what good will it bring to my life? Living alone can get boring. However, I am trying to find things to do. Maybe I will visit a bookstore today. Lets see.  I have rearranged the furnitures yesterday. Cleaned as well. The place looks good.  Maybe I will go IKEA. I love it there. Even though I can't afford furnitures, I just enjoy looking at them. Oh what to tell you B. My in-laws are coming this...

"Because nothing makes me happier and nothing makes me sadder than you.”

“If I had a camera," I said, "I'd take a picture of you every day. That way I'd remember how you looked every single day of your life." "I look exactly the same." "No, you don't. You're changing all the time. Every day a tiny bit. If I could, I'd keep a record of it all." "If you're so smart, how did I change today?" "You got a fraction of a millimeter taller, for one thing. Your hair grew a fraction of a millimeter longer. And your breasts grew a fraction of a—" "They did not!" "Yes, they did." "Did NOT." "Did too." "What else, you big pig?" "You got a little happier and also a little sadder." "Meaning they cancel out each other, leaving me exactly the same." "Not at all. The fact that you got a little happier today doesn't change the fact that you also become a little sadder. Every day you become a little more of both, which me...