After a month of feeling numb, I've started to feel things again.
I went shopping today. Today was different because 1. I knew what I wanted
for myself 2. I made a list prior to going shopping 3. I was bold about what I
wanted.
Guess what, I managed to avoid buyer's remorse. However, I did buy a pair of
jean's that wasn't a good fit. I can fix that though. Just needs a little
stitching, that's all.
I learned from this experience that it is so much better when you make a
list of things you want and stick to it. I can apply to selecting a partner as
well. Of course, it will not be like a shopping list. It will create a sense of
qualities that I look for and will not negotiate or settle for less. We are
human beings and I may not get a perfect partner but I have to see if the
person has some qualities that outweighs that bad ones and I can make a deal
without having to compromise too much.
Like that pair of jeans I bargained for. It is not a perfect fit. However,
the fabric and color is good and I can make some minor changes and work it out.
Today, I told my mother about marriage. The guy I was talking with made some
sexist remarks. I cannot be with a guy or even think about future, who thinks
of women as inferior. It is a non-negotiable. I will not tolerate it and definitely
I don't see a future here of us. Now, I don't know if that was his cranky mood
or usual self. We all make bad judgments sometimes. I think I am more attracted
to people who leaves room to change and improve. Honestly, I was really shocked
when he made that remark. I really thought highly of him. I have not met him
though.
All this month I thought, I am the issue. I always do that. Now I know, it's
just not a good match. Something is clearly off here. I must recognize the red
flags and go for the exit. The last thing I would want is getting into a dysfunctional relationship just because of the societal pressure and parent's
olden days thoughts. This is my life and I know what I want. At least, I am
making an effort to figure it out. I don't owe anyone anything. Nobody is going
to get benefitted from my marriage. I have to make sure the person I am going
to start a family with is a good person, is a kind person, is a humble person,
is a genuine person and makes time for me.
I've thought a lot of things. I cried. I went numb. I worked my ass off. I
did soul searching and it is still on. These days, I yearn for genuine
relationships and care less about materialistic things. I opened my dating
profile again. I think it is important that I don't sit around waiting for love
to fall into my lap. I should see people. I should meet people. It is better
that way. My parents have been understanding lately. I wouldn't say they are agreeable all the time but they started to give me less bullshit. So I guess
that is my opening.
I guess I needed some sad days to finally find my beat.
Will miss you old friend.
I will try to update you soon on my life. Till then, sayonara.
Comments
Post a Comment